It’s incredible to think that less than two weeks ago I hadn’t even begun my journey on the Primary PGCE course. At the end of two weeks, I feel I am now able to reflect back on the course and what I have learnt so far.

Whether it was substituting letters for numbers, revealing how hard it is to count, or learning nursery rhymes such as “farmer Pete,” the last two weeks have been a challenge. I have thoroughly enjoyed soaking up as much knowledge and pedagogical content as physically possible, and believe the resources and experiences passed down from tutors have been invaluable. I have learnt that as a trainee professional I can incorporate aspects of phonics into every lesson, along with other subjects including art, science and maths. Kerry (2010, p8) states that “cross-curricular teaching is essential for an effective classroom.”
The Primary PGCE course has reinforced my desire for kinaesthetic learning. Designing experiments in science and carrying out these as children would, has given me more confidence and appreciation of the subject. Good and Brophy (2003), emphasise the importance of modelling enthusiasm in the classroom. “Students tend to respond positively to an enthusiastic teacher and become interested in similar things.”

I have discovered that trips to Manchester Museum and alike enable children to experience hands-on learning. It also gives me, as a trainee teacher, inspiration for lesson ideas and an excellent opportunity to incorporate all aspects of the curriculum. Cross (2012) emphasised the use of stories when teaching to engage pupils and make them motivated to learn.

As a trainee professional I was given the opportunity to observe a Year One science lesson on light. I have to say this session was priceless. I was able to view first hand the behavioural management strategies of a teacher, and listen to how she delivered the lesson confidently. She used phonics in her science lesson, with regards to a torch, instructing children to turn it “o-on”. After the lesson, I was able to engage with two children together with two other trainees. We designed an activity where the pupils together had to identify light sources and played a game called three in a row to consolidate this information. The children were very responsive and although it must have been frightening for them they seemed to really enjoy it.

A further aspect I have been developing is my communication skills. For professional studies we have been asked to deliver a presentation based on seminar readings with a partner. We were asked to look at learning theories and feedback to the rest of the group. This has not been presented to the tutor group yet, however we have designed three activities for our fellow trainee professionals to participate in. My aim is for my colleagues to be able to replicate Vygotsky’s scaffolding ideas in their classroom.

One final thing I think is important to discuss is differentiation. Whenever I have been asked to design a lesson for pupils, the words “high ability” and “low ability” are often used. I would like to learn more about these concepts and the different ways in which activities can be differentiated in order for learning to take place effectively.

Although the first two weeks have been extremely challenging, the benefits have been even more rewarding. I am excited to continue my learning and cannot wait to get in the classroom!



References

Brophy, J. and Good, T. (2003). Looking In Classrooms.  Boston. Allyn & Bacon.

Cross, A. (2012) University of Manchester PGCE course. Plymouth Grove Primary School.

Kerry, T. (2010). Cross-Curricular Teaching in the Primary School: Planning and Facilitating Imaginative lessons. Oxon. Routledge .



Leave a Reply.